Kevin Haislip

The Expressions of a Great Santa!

Kevin Haislip

Last year, my daughter and grandson called to invite me to join them for a local Christmas parade in their town.  This town really knows how to celebrate Christmas!  Even though I am a real bearded Santa, I still went and we had a great time watching all the wonderful floats go by, decorated with lights and tinsel and all manner of design.  But when Santa and his sleigh came by, Santa just sat there, nary a wave, barely a smile.

Then recently, I was paging through a talent agency website looking at various Santas represented by that agency.  I’ve got to say, there are a quite a few of us I would not hire if I was looking for someone to appear at my party.  I’ve been a Santa now for 10 years and every year have worked hard to improve my appearance and talents.

I was a commercial photographer for 37 years before I retired.  In that job, I not only had to learn to use a camera and design a photograph, but since I also worked with models (often amateurs), I had to learn how to direct them to get the best shot. 

When I photographed someone in a shot that demanded a mood of ‘excitement’, I studied what other artists and photographers had done to show that.  I directed and worked with the models to get gestures and moods and expressions like happiness, joy, sadness, depression, anger and so on from them.  I was prepared for what looks I needed to inspire when I walked into my studio or on set.  And over time, it became second nature to me to coax various expressions from my models to even get images that were not planned but still became great shots.  I use those skills I learned as a photographer and director.

As Santas, we too need to do this.  We need to look at what photographers and models have done with expression to get such wonderful shots.  And I don’t mean just Santas photos either.