Jump to content

Leaderboard


Popular Content

Showing content with the highest reputation since 07/17/2019 in all areas

  1. 8 points
    What can I say...when I think of Clausnet and the help and support I have received through the years, I often also think of Eileen. She is certainly a Clausnet star and the time she has taken to help and offer advice is a blessing in the lives of many individuals. There is not one event that I attend during the Christmas season, where I am not wearing at least one item that Eileen has created for me and she certainly, is aware of every stitch and detail. I am excited for you to hear a little about Eileen and I hope you enjoy this episode of the podcast. Let's get this party started! Happy Friday! We are back and excited to continue our second season with another great interview for our listeners to enjoy! Introducing another very special guest to the podcast, one of Mrs. Claus' special helpers, Eileen Strom! We hope you enjoy the podcast as much as we enjoyed recording it, Eileen is a great asset to the Christmas community. For the best experience, download the podcast via iTunes, Stitcher for Podcasts App., or Google Play Music App. on your personal device. Don’t forget to subscribe and leave a review. We could use your help to promote our message to the Christmas community! Please share this post with your friends, family, and Christmas groups! Listening on the computer? Follow the link below: http://santaclauspodcast.com/episode-28-its-all-in-the-details-with-mrs-claus
  2. 5 points
    I had a great time at the Red Suit Conclave. I hope you will be able to attend next year. It was a wonderful time of learning, encouragement and fellowship.
  3. 4 points
  4. 4 points
    If Netflix streaming was money, Christmas Chronicles raked in $200m + last year in its first week. Well, now, hat tip: https://movieweb.com/christmas-chronicles-2-kurt-russell-director-chris-columbus/ "Chris Columbus is reportedly all set to direct Netflix's The Christmas Chronicles 2. The first installment was a success for the streaming platform with an estimated 20 million streams within the first week of its premiere...holiday movie fans were quick to adopt Russell into their annual rotation of yuletide movies, so a sequel should be welcomed with open arms. The Christmas Chronicles was produced by Chris Columbus' 1492 Pictures, but it was directed by Clay Kaytis. The Christmas Chronicles 2 will see Chris Columbus take the helm, which will more than likely generate quite a bit of interest. The director is behind such classics as Home Alone, Home Alone 2, Mrs. Doubtfire, and two Harry Potter installments. With Columbus and Kurt Russell returning, the sequel may end up getting even more streams than the first one earned on Netflix, while getting some more critical acclaim at the same time. The Christmas Chronicles 2 does not have an official Netflix release date set, but it will more than likely premiere in time for Christmas 2020. Production is reportedly set to start in September..."
  5. 4 points
  6. 4 points
  7. 3 points
    Name: John Rhys-Davies Explains the Importance of the Christmas Story Category: Movies and Television Date Added: 08/14/2019 Submitter: Drosselmeyer John's recitation of the story in Luke is powerful - but his personal breakdown of the story is even more compelling John Rhys-Davies Explains the Importance of the Christmas Story
  8. 3 points
    You most likely are aware that McDonalds has the electronic menu/ordering devices in place. I try not to use those, I prefer actually giving my order to the cashier. I still like going to the store to see the item I want to purchase, but some things I have no choice but to purchase online. Things change and sometimes not necessarily for the better.
  9. 3 points
    Yikes, seems just a tad high priced. A family of four would be $$$. Grinch setting prices?
  10. 3 points
    Pittsburgh is fast becoming a huge Christmas destination! Means more jobs and more work in the Christmas entertainment industry. Whew! I'm going to be one tired dude December 26th...
  11. 3 points
    Personally, I think Amazon is putting the biggest hurt on department stores, versus anything else. The consumer can stay at home and compare prices without crowds, spending money on gas, etc.
  12. 3 points
    We are excited to share another great interview for our listeners to enjoy! Introducing another very special guest to the podcast, one of Santa's helpers and a member of the Santa Claus Hall of Fame, Jim Dyer! We hope you enjoy the podcast as much as we have enjoyed recording it, Jim is a great asset to the Christmas community. For the best experience, download the podcast via iTunes, Stitcher for Podcasts App., or Google Play Music App. on your personal device. Don’t forget to subscribe and leave a review. We could use your help to promote our message to the Christmas community! Please share this post with your friends, family, and Christmas groups! Listening on the computer? Follow the link below: http://santaclauspodcast.com/episode-30-santa-claus-spreading-joy-throughout-the-world
  13. 3 points
    We are excited to share another great interview for our listeners to enjoy! Introducing another very special guest to the podcast, one of Santa's helpers, Cortney Lofton! We hope you enjoy the podcast as much as we have enjoyed recording it, Cortney is a great asset to the Christmas community. For the best experience, download the podcast via iTunes, Stitcher for Podcasts App., or Google Play Music App. on your personal device. Don’t forget to subscribe and leave a review. We could use your help to promote our message to the Christmas community! Please share this post with your friends, family, and Christmas groups! Listening on the computer? Follow the link below: http://santaclauspodcast.com/episode-29-walking-towards-santa-claus
  14. 3 points
    great podcast! cant wait for the new content! Always gets me excited to see another episode drop!
  15. 3 points
  16. 3 points
    If you click the link at the top where Mike posted the news story, you can watch it where it does show the actual text that it is about.
  17. 3 points
    I'm not interested at all in doing video chats or texts or anything like that as Santa. A good old fashioned down to earth back to the basics Santa is fine with me!
  18. 3 points
    What a freaking shame! Some sicko devises this nonsense and now there is further ruination of the image of Santa. Is anything sacred anymore? Heck, I know the answer: No. Disgusting sickos, full of evil intent, do anything they can to destroy, not bring up! I understand news agencies informing parents, but the bad thing is that everybody and their brother will bring it up to those of us who never, in our wildest dreams, would do anything to besmirch the image of Santa. Oy gevalt!
  19. 3 points
  20. 2 points
  21. 2 points
    Name: John Rhys-Davies reciting Luke 2 Category: Movies and Television Date Added: 08/14/2019 Submitter: Drosselmeyer this is probably the most powerful telling of the Christmas story I have ever heard John Rhys-Davies reciting Luke 2
  22. 2 points
    Christmas Glow: Festival Of One Million Lights Is Coming To Pittsburgh August 7, 2019 (KDKA) Excerpt – Pittsburgh -One of the world’s largest indoor Christmas festivals is being held in Pittsburgh this year. Christmas Glow, also known as Lumaze, began in 2017 near Vancouver, Canada. Now, it’s coming to 31st Street Studios in Pittsburgh’s Strip District. The festival with one million lights promises something for everyone! Playgrounds for the kids, seasonal beverages for mom and dad, food, and live music are all on tap. SOURCE
  23. 2 points
    Loved Everett's podcast! He's one I can count as a true friend. One I have met in person, who has reached out to me as well as me reaching out to him. We've talked tech, phones, and Santa, of course. Thanks for sharing your childhood, family, and journey to Santa, @TN Santa!
  24. 2 points
  25. 2 points
    I try to shop local just to support the local businesses when I can. Especially the local Farmers Market.
  26. 2 points
    You know, you made me think: I can honestly see an ad campaign and/or a movie or show with Santa using drones to deliver gifts because he's tired of the sleigh. While it would most likely not be well received, look at the garbage that spews out of Hollywood already!
  27. 2 points
    I have six ,various sizes,put them out each season
  28. 2 points
  29. 2 points
  30. 2 points
  31. 2 points
    I have started listening to them in order, so not very far yet. So much info in each one, so much information, so little time to sit and reflect on it applies, These have served to caused me to study more into the history of St Nicholas, and all that have followed him. Imagine that this one will be just as valuable. Each one causes me to do more study.
  32. 2 points
    Excellent job! You have way too much time on your hands my dear!!
  33. 2 points
    I listened to this podcast yesterday too. It was a great interview and I learned a lot. Love hearing from other Santas about their history, their work and their advice. I am far from California, so I found Cortney's comments about his work out there very interesting. This podcast is awesome!
  34. 2 points
    The August 2019 issue of the ClausNet Gazette is now online! SUBSCRIBE
  35. 2 points
    As Mike said, I am sick and tired of this, too. There are lots of Santas who truly bring joy and the magic of Christmas to lots of children. It is sad that there are people out there who would destroy an image that is to be kind, compassionate and considerate to children. Santa is to be an example for the children. So sad!!!
  36. 2 points
    It’s Christmas in July on many B.C. movie sets as Hallmark boosts production July 26, 2019 Bill Brioux, The Canadian Press Excerpt: It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas — at least on Canadian movie sets. Especially in Vancouver, where “Sense, Sensibility & Snowmen” was one of five holiday-themed TV-movies — three by Hallmark — shot in B.C. this July alone. Directed by Calgary native David Winning, the family-friendly feature stars Erin Krakow and London, Ont.-born Luke Macfarlane. Krakow, the American-born star of Hallmark’s “When Calls the Heart” (also shot in Vancouver), plays an over-enthusiastic Christmas planner, while Macfarlane co-stars as a Scrooge-like toy company CEO. Before you can say “ho-ho-ho,” they become holiday sweethearts. It’s Winning’s 15th movie for Hallmark, eight of which have been Christmas-themed. **** Quite often that safe harbour originates in Canada. Hallmark, a Crown Media company, ordered a record 100-plus TV movies into production in 2019. The network says about 70 are shot in Canada, including places such as North Bay, Sudbury and Parry Sound, Ont. To achieve the right Christmas-in-July look, workers roll out fake snow made out of cotton batting, fetching truckloads of the real stuff from local hockey rinks to cover green lawns on outdoor sets. Companies producing these films earn points and claim big tax advantages for every Canadian actor near the top of the call sheet. Canadian directors and writers also trigger tax incentives. **** Campbell is also grateful for the Hallmark seal of approval. Usually an American, such as former “Full House” actress Candace Cameron Bure, takes top billing on a shot-in-Canada original. Campbell’s star at the network has risen to the point, however, where he and Ottawa-born Kimberly Sustad — two Canadians — have the No. 1 and 2 spots in “A Godwink Christmas.” The key, says Campbell, is becoming “a recognizable face” on the network. As for why Hallmark keeps casting Canadians in their Christmas films, Campbell, tongue somewhat in cheek, says it goes beyond the dollar. “A lot of L.A. actors have a swagger which doesn’t actually work for Hallmark,” he says. Better the low-key Canadian approach: “Please love me!” SOURCE
  37. 2 points
    Each month, our Featured Member section profiles a ClausNet member. Members are chosen totally at random by me and the staff. Once selected as Featured Member of the Month, we interview the candidate and post the interview here. This is a wonderful way to get to know your fellow ClausNet members! We are happy to announce our ClausNet Featured Member for July 2019 is Santa John Gable! Santa John Gable Featured ClausNet Member – July 2019 Profile: Santa John Gable Real Name: John Location: Lebanon PA USA ClausNet member since: April 9, 2009 Community Reputation (as of today): 459 – Exceptional! Facebook: LebanonPASanta This month's Featured Member is from Lebanon Pennsylvania. Santa John Gable joined the ClausNet family over 10 years ago and has been a key contributor to the site ever since. We caught up with Santa John a few days ago, and here is what he had to say... ClausNet: How long have you been portraying Santa Claus and how did you get started? Santa John Gable: "In 2005 at the age of 35, I asked my mom if she would make me a suit, with no real idea what I would do or where I would go. I ended up visiting homeless shelters and nursing homes with a hospice group that I volunteered with. Little did I know what lie ahead." ClausNet: What or who are your influences on your portrayal of Santa Claus? Santa John Gable: "When I first decided I wanted to do this, I googled, and the first (and most impressive) person I came across was Dutch Schrap. He is the person whose portrayal I admired the most, and he was pretty local to me. I contacted him, and he wrote back and was very encouraging and helpful. We have been (mostly online) friends ever since." ClausNet: What do you enjoy most about being Santa Claus? Santa John Gable: "I really enjoy using my social status to help do good for others. In years past I have collected gifts and necessities for several local families who were having a bad year. I have collected blankets, clothing, food and toys for a local homeless shelter. Last Christmas I started a music scholarship for the local high school, so that one student who is pursuing music as a career will have an extra $1000 to start them off right. I hope this will be a yearly thing. All of these things were made possible by donations from those who visit with me each year. I am simply the facilitator." ClausNet: What is your most memorable visit? Santa John Gable: "It was early in my career when I was still a mall Santa. Two teenage boys approached, and I thought it was going to be trouble. However one of them pulled out a framed photo of their aunt, who had always brought them to visit Santa. Turns out she had passed away from cancer that year, and they wanted a photo of themselves and me, holding her picture. Still makes me tear up to think of it." ClausNet: Do you have a favorite gig? Santa John Gable: "I work at a place called Misty Run Tree Farm every year, and they have become like family to me. The same folks come back every year to get a tree, and take a free picture with Santa. It is relaxed, informal, and the place looks like something right out of a Hallmark movie. If they could just do something about the mud." ClausNet: What is your dream gig? Santa John Gable: "I guess I dream small, because the local hometown holiday parade is it. I got to do it one year when the parade got rained out and their Santa couldn't make the rain date. I am told I am next in line if the current Santa ever cannot fulfill his duties." ClausNet: What keeps you busy when you are not being Santa? Santa John Gable: "I am a married father of three kids, ages 15, 19, and 21. I work a full time job at Penn State Milton S. Hershey Medical Center." ClausNet: What are your hobbies / interests? Santa John Gable: "I have been volunteering with the local high school music department for 9 years, ever since my oldest was in 8th grade. I have 2 years left, and I love helping them with marching band, concerts, spring musicals, and whatever else they need. It keeps me pretty busy before and after the holiday season." ClausNet: What is your favorite color? Santa John Gable: "Purple." ClausNet: What is your favorite food? Santa John Gable: "I love pizza, mashed potatoes, a good turkey dinner with all the sides. All things I am trying not to eat right now, as I am down almost 40 pounds since February. Santa still has to be healthy. That's what they make padding for, right?" ClausNet: Coke or Pepsi? Santa John Gable: "Coke, if I am drinking soda." ClausNet: What is your favorite cookie? Santa John Gable: "It's a toss up between chocolate chip and oatmeal raisin." ClausNet: What is your favorite movie? Santa John Gable: "This is a tough one. I own hundreds. I like movies based in the past, like Memphis Belle or The Majestic." ClausNet: Do you have a favorite Christmas movie? Santa John Gable: "Another tough one, but I would have to say Miracle on 34th Street, both the 1947 version and the 1994 version." ClausNet: What is your favorite Christmas song? Santa John Gable: "Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas by Judy Garland." ClausNet: What was the last book that you read? Santa John Gable: "I don't read many books I'm ashamed to say. I think the last was actually A Christmas Carol by Dickens." ClausNet: What profession other than your own would you like to attempt? Santa John Gable: "I still don't know what I would like to be when I grow up, and I am almost 50. I love doing anything that involves helping others. Unfortunately most of these jobs are volunteer or very low paying." ClausNet: What profession would you not like to attempt? Santa John Gable: "Too many to list. I definitely couldn't handle being a surgeon, blood and guts don't sit well with me." ClausNet: What were some of your favorite toys as a child? Santa John Gable: "Legos, Tonka trucks, Big Wheels, and when I got a little older, this electric (battery) experiment kit that came with lights and wires that you could connect to do all sorts of things." ClausNet: What is your most memorable experience of Santa while growing up? Santa John Gable: "Oddly enough, I have no recollection of visiting Santa as a child. No pictures either. Strange then that I got into it as an adult" ClausNet: What is the hardest question you have gotten as Santa Claus and what was your response? Santa John Gable: "I've been asked if I could cure a young girl's mom of a disease, cancer I think. I told her that Santa can't grant those kinds of wishes, but that I would be sure to say a prayer for her mom. That seemed to make her feel better and she went on with her visit. I'll never know what happened to her mom after that night." ClausNet: What is the strangest request you have gotten as Santa Claus? Santa John Gable: "Single ladies, young and old, seem to think it's funny to ask for a man. I always laugh and tell them ‘I will do my best!’" ClausNet: How did you find ClausNet? Santa John Gable: "It was recommended to me by a fellow Santa!" ClausNet: And what do you like most about ClausNet? Santa John Gable: "It is a wealth of knowledge, and most are willing to share what they have learned with new Santas." ClausNet: Is there a Santa or Mrs. Claus over the years that you admire or has inspired you? Can you tell us a little bit about him/her? Santa John Gable: "See question number two." ClausNet: What advice can you give to a first time Santa or Mrs. Claus? Santa John Gable: "While it is important that your suit fits kind of well, and your beard is neat (no matter real or designer), what matters most is your heart. Care for the kids (and adults) and that's half the battle." ClausNet: Anything else you would like to add? Santa John Gable: " No one Santa's portrayal is the ‘right’ one. Support each other, help each other, and care for those who support you. THAT makes a good Santa." Thank you John! Everyone, please join me in congratulating Santa John Gable, our ClausNet Featured Member of the Month for July 2019!
  38. 2 points
    Another sad reflection about some individuals in our society. All about $$$ and self, Christmas is about giving for others, and too many individuals just see its a time to take advantage of others. Get as much as they can at any cost. At least if in person, not as much change of things being "Misunderstood" as they can online.
  39. 2 points
    Looks like the chat business will take a breather until this blows over. Was thinking about it but now not too sure.
  40. 2 points
    Yes I remember you mentioning this in the documentary.
  41. 2 points
    Yep, you could see this coming down the pike. Just pitiful.
  42. 2 points
    I warned about this exact thing happening years ago.
  43. 2 points
    Ho Ho Ho Hello! Fellow, Jolly Red Fellows! After busy upheaval over here in Middle East, I am finally able to settle a little and spend some time with the JRFS! Also merchandise with our Logo on it! So let's get the ball rolling and give me your input! (kindly)
  44. 2 points
    I and my family are big fans of Cirque Productions. Every year, it seems, they put on a holiday program. This year it's "Cirque Dreams Holidaze". My 13 year old is bouncing off the walls!
  45. 2 points
    I'm looking forward to seeing this "revisioning" of this stage work for the screen, however, my complaint is that the screen leaves little to the imagination. Okay, I will admit, I am a fan of the show, and yes, I was called back, years ago, for Old Deut. I think it will be good have this in the holiday offerings of films but it isn't a holiday story, it's a series of poems about cats. The story line is what is implied by the staging director and choreographer. I remember these poems as bedtime stories when I was growing up. The CGI make-up looks, different.
  46. 2 points
  47. 1 point
    Why am I not surprised? It is an accurate response, though.
  48. 1 point
    I have two of these ceramic trees, but I'm having problems finding replacement plastic decorations that you insert into the holes.
  49. 1 point

    From the album: Misc

    Adele's Traditional
  50. 1 point

    From the album: Season and other stuff

    at the double r

    © © ClausNET.com

About | Forums | Blogs | Newsletter | Contact


© 2019 MJR Group. LLC. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Copyright IP Policy

Proud affiliate of My Merry Christmas!

Subscribe to the ClausNet Gazette

Enter your email address to subscribe to our monthly newsletter.

About ClausNet

The ClausNet community is the largest social network and online resource for Santa Claus, Mrs. Claus, Elves, Reindeer Handlers, and Santa helpers for the purposes of sharing stories, advice, news, and information.
×
×
  • Create New...