Jump to content

Leaderboard


Popular Content

Showing content with the highest reputation since 07/25/2019 in all areas

  1. 8 points
    What can I say...when I think of Clausnet and the help and support I have received through the years, I often also think of Eileen. She is certainly a Clausnet star and the time she has taken to help and offer advice is a blessing in the lives of many individuals. There is not one event that I attend during the Christmas season, where I am not wearing at least one item that Eileen has created for me and she certainly, is aware of every stitch and detail. I am excited for you to hear a little about Eileen and I hope you enjoy this episode of the podcast. Let's get this party started! Happy Friday! We are back and excited to continue our second season with another great interview for our listeners to enjoy! Introducing another very special guest to the podcast, one of Mrs. Claus' special helpers, Eileen Strom! We hope you enjoy the podcast as much as we enjoyed recording it, Eileen is a great asset to the Christmas community. For the best experience, download the podcast via iTunes, Stitcher for Podcasts App., or Google Play Music App. on your personal device. Don’t forget to subscribe and leave a review. We could use your help to promote our message to the Christmas community! Please share this post with your friends, family, and Christmas groups! Listening on the computer? Follow the link below: http://santaclauspodcast.com/episode-28-its-all-in-the-details-with-mrs-claus
  2. 6 points
    Polar Express is pulling into mid-Michigan 22 August 2019 by WILX Excerpt: OWOSSO, MI. (WILX) -- "All aboard...the Polar Express." The Pere Marquette steam locomotive No.1225 will make it's official appearance the first weekend of October, which will commemorate with the steam railroading institute celebrating 50 years. **** On October 4, in the afternoon, the train will leave Owosso and travel with Santa Claus and his elves on an excursion. But not just one Santa Claus - many from the Charles W. Howard Santa Claus School of Midland will be on board. The school trains Santas, Mrs. Clauses, and elves from around the world, according to a press release. SOURCE Picture is from the 2018 CW Howard school that I attended.
  3. 5 points
    If Netflix streaming was money, Christmas Chronicles raked in $200m + last year in its first week. Well, now, hat tip: https://movieweb.com/christmas-chronicles-2-kurt-russell-director-chris-columbus/ "Chris Columbus is reportedly all set to direct Netflix's The Christmas Chronicles 2. The first installment was a success for the streaming platform with an estimated 20 million streams within the first week of its premiere...holiday movie fans were quick to adopt Russell into their annual rotation of yuletide movies, so a sequel should be welcomed with open arms. The Christmas Chronicles was produced by Chris Columbus' 1492 Pictures, but it was directed by Clay Kaytis. The Christmas Chronicles 2 will see Chris Columbus take the helm, which will more than likely generate quite a bit of interest. The director is behind such classics as Home Alone, Home Alone 2, Mrs. Doubtfire, and two Harry Potter installments. With Columbus and Kurt Russell returning, the sequel may end up getting even more streams than the first one earned on Netflix, while getting some more critical acclaim at the same time. The Christmas Chronicles 2 does not have an official Netflix release date set, but it will more than likely premiere in time for Christmas 2020. Production is reportedly set to start in September..."
  4. 5 points
    I had a great time at the Red Suit Conclave. I hope you will be able to attend next year. It was a wonderful time of learning, encouragement and fellowship.
  5. 4 points
    Santa Claus 'will always be a man', says Orewa Christmas parade job advert 22 August 2019 by Caroline Williams - Stuff Excerpt: Men will be the only gender to ever fill Santa's boots, say the organisers of a north Auckland Christmas parade. The role of Santa Claus in this year's Orewa Santa Parade was advertised online, with organisers adamant the person in the big red suit could only be a man. Newspaper group Local Matters reported the ad read: "We are in search of a fit and active man – yes, sorry, in the time of equality, Santa will still always be a man ..." **** A Human Rights Commission spokesperson said it was illegal for an employer to advertise for a specific gender unless it is proven the gender "is a genuine occupational qualification". "Sex is a prohibited ground of discrimination under the Human Rights Act." However, there were a number of exceptions to the law dependent on specific facts, including "reasons of authenticity" - which Wilkins insists applies in the case of here. SOURCE:
  6. 4 points
  7. 4 points
  8. 3 points
  9. 3 points
    Name: John Rhys-Davies Explains the Importance of the Christmas Story Category: Movies and Television Date Added: 08/14/2019 Submitter: Drosselmeyer John's recitation of the story in Luke is powerful - but his personal breakdown of the story is even more compelling John Rhys-Davies Explains the Importance of the Christmas Story
  10. 3 points
    You most likely are aware that McDonalds has the electronic menu/ordering devices in place. I try not to use those, I prefer actually giving my order to the cashier. I still like going to the store to see the item I want to purchase, but some things I have no choice but to purchase online. Things change and sometimes not necessarily for the better.
  11. 3 points
    I have six ,various sizes,put them out each season
  12. 3 points
    Yikes, seems just a tad high priced. A family of four would be $$$. Grinch setting prices?
  13. 3 points
    Pittsburgh is fast becoming a huge Christmas destination! Means more jobs and more work in the Christmas entertainment industry. Whew! I'm going to be one tired dude December 26th...
  14. 3 points
    Personally, I think Amazon is putting the biggest hurt on department stores, versus anything else. The consumer can stay at home and compare prices without crowds, spending money on gas, etc.
  15. 3 points
    We are excited to share another great interview for our listeners to enjoy! Introducing another very special guest to the podcast, one of Santa's helpers and a member of the Santa Claus Hall of Fame, Jim Dyer! We hope you enjoy the podcast as much as we have enjoyed recording it, Jim is a great asset to the Christmas community. For the best experience, download the podcast via iTunes, Stitcher for Podcasts App., or Google Play Music App. on your personal device. Don’t forget to subscribe and leave a review. We could use your help to promote our message to the Christmas community! Please share this post with your friends, family, and Christmas groups! Listening on the computer? Follow the link below: http://santaclauspodcast.com/episode-30-santa-claus-spreading-joy-throughout-the-world
  16. 3 points
    We are excited to share another great interview for our listeners to enjoy! Introducing another very special guest to the podcast, one of Santa's helpers, Cortney Lofton! We hope you enjoy the podcast as much as we have enjoyed recording it, Cortney is a great asset to the Christmas community. For the best experience, download the podcast via iTunes, Stitcher for Podcasts App., or Google Play Music App. on your personal device. Don’t forget to subscribe and leave a review. We could use your help to promote our message to the Christmas community! Please share this post with your friends, family, and Christmas groups! Listening on the computer? Follow the link below: http://santaclauspodcast.com/episode-29-walking-towards-santa-claus
  17. 3 points
    great podcast! cant wait for the new content! Always gets me excited to see another episode drop!
  18. 3 points
  19. 2 points
    Each month, our Featured Member section profiles a ClausNet member. Members are chosen totally at random by me and the staff. Once selected as Featured Member of the Month, we interview the candidate and post the interview here. This is a wonderful way to get to know your fellow ClausNet members! We are happy to announce our ClausNet Featured Member for August 2019 is Kevin Haislip! Kevin Haislip Featured ClausNet Member – August 2019 Profile: Kevin Haislip Real Name: Kevin Location: Dallas, TX USA ClausNet member since: October 20, 2009 Community Reputation (as of today): 117 – Excellent! Website: SantasHope.com Facebook: Kevin.Haislip Our Featured Member of the Month for August 2019 has been a contributing member to ClausNet for almost 10 years – almost as long as he has been a Santa Claus! Santa Kevin Haislip joined the ClausNet community back in October of 2009. We caught up with Santa Kevin a few days ago, and here is what he had to say... ClausNet: How long have you been portraying Santa Claus and how did you get started? Kevin Haislip: "I've been a Santa for 11 years. That is year-round 'years' as I am a real bearded Santa and get stopped practically daily." ClausNet: What or who are your influences on your portrayal of Santa Claus? Kevin Haislip: "The person who influenced me the most to be Santa was St. Nicholas. Santa was not part of our family Christmas celebrations as we raised our children because we wanted to keep Christmas focused on the birth of Jesus. But reading about St. Nicholas and his own faith in Christ made me realize what a great influence Santa can be to children and families." ClausNet: What is your most memorable visit? Kevin Haislip: "I have way too many memorable visits, but the one that probably stands out the most is the time I was invited to the National Media Summit in New York City and met authors and national media producers from all over the country. It was a lot of fun for me to play New York City." ClausNet: Do you have a favorite gig? Kevin Haislip: "I am a very blessed Santa. I get to visit with a lot of corporations, cities and families and every one of them is my favorite. I look forward to them all!" ClausNet: What is your dream gig? Kevin Haislip: "By far, my dream gig is to be invited to bless the President and his family with a Christmas visit at the White House." ClausNet: What keeps you busy when you are not being Santa? Kevin Haislip: "My wife and I serve as youth and English pastors at a Chinese Christian church." ClausNet: What are your hobbies / interests? Kevin Haislip: "I love collecting Santa and Christmas decor and you won't believe what I found this afternoon." ClausNet: What is your favorite color? Kevin Haislip: "My favorite color is red, of course! What did you think it was?" ClausNet: What is your favorite food? Kevin Haislip: "I love Mexican food! Mexican food and hamburgers. Let me see, is there anything else?" ClausNet: Coke or Pepsi? Kevin Haislip: "My favorite drink is cold ice tea or better yet, hot chocolate in winter." ClausNet: What is your favorite cookie? Kevin Haislip: "Chocolate chip cookies are my favorite with Snicker doodles running a very close second." ClausNet: What is your favorite movie? Kevin Haislip: "My favorite movies are where someone has been truly genuinely changed. The Mission with Robert DeNiro depicts a slave trader turned servant to the people he previously entrapped. I also loved Shindler's List and the transformation of Shindler in the movie to loving and sacrificing for those being killed by the Nazis." ClausNet: Do you have a favorite Christmas movie? Kevin Haislip: "My favorite Christmas movie is probably the 1994 production of ‘Miracle on 34th Street’ closely followed by ‘The Santa Clause’ with Tim Allen." ClausNet: What is your favorite Christmas song? Kevin Haislip: "I love the song, 'Silent Night' but if you pass me and there is no one sitting on my lap, you will find me singing along and moving with whatever Christmas music is being played. I love Christmas." ClausNet: What was the last book that you read? Kevin Haislip: "I read the Bible every day but besides that I am currently working my way through John Pipers book, 'Desiring God'." ClausNet: What profession other than your own would you like to attempt? Kevin Haislip: "I retired as a newspaper and advertising photographer of 37 years a while back. The industry isn't as much fun as it used to be. But you can't find a more fun profession for a career. Except being a Santa!! That is really fun. I think I might also like to run for President. It is time we have a candidate (Santa) that encourages people to respect one another, do the true and right thing, and learn to be generous givers." ClausNet: What profession would you not like to attempt? Kevin Haislip: "I wouldn't actually want to win a presidential election." ClausNet: What were some of your favorite toys as a child? Kevin Haislip: "I loved to build anything electronic as a young boy and as a teen, I got a camera for Christmas and began a wonderful exploration." ClausNet: What is your most memorable experience of Santa while growing up? Kevin Haislip: "I remember my parents used to take my sister down to the May D & F store in downtown Denver every Christmas season to visit Santa. He was a wonderful Santa and I loved looking at all the outside window displays of elves making toys, baking cookies, packing the sleigh and all that went into making Christmas, Christmas!" ClausNet: What is the hardest question you have gotten as Santa Claus and what was your response? Kevin Haislip: "Over the years, I've had a handful of children tell me their father died, or mother or sibling died that year. All I can do is to hold them close and cry with them. Another heart wrenching time was an older sister who came in with her brother who was in a wheelchair. He had Cerebral Palsy. She and I talked first and she told me she didn't want anything for herself for Christmas. She wanted me to make sure her brother had the best Christmas ever. After recomposing myself, I told her mother who had come through with her children." ClausNet: What is the strangest request you have gotten as Santa Claus? Kevin Haislip: "The strangest request is actually my most memorable one. A young boy named Dwayne came to me and sat down and looked at me with a very puzzled expression. He didn't say a word for at least a minute or longer. Finally, I asked him what he wanted for Christmas and he said, ‘Santa, all I want for Christmas is to get off the naughty list!’ He said nothing more, jumped down and disappeared into the crowd.’" ClausNet: How did you find ClausNet? Kevin Haislip: "Santa Felix Estridge told me about ClausNet when I got started and I quickly signed up." ClausNet: And what do you like most about ClausNet? Kevin Haislip: "I am a busy man and when I get a few minutes, I love to sit down and read up on what other Santas and Mrs Claus are doing. The articles and news are often the kinds of things I can learn from and make myself even better at what I do. I have learned a lot from everyone at ClausNet and from all the contributors. Thank you all!" ClausNet: Is there a Santa or Mrs. Claus over the years that you admire or has inspired you? Can you tell us a little bit about him/her? Kevin Haislip: "The single biggest help and encouragement to me came from Santa Felix Estridge. We don't see each other very often and I regret that, but Felix did a lot helping me get my feet on the ground and moving. I have mentored many other Santas through the years as well. Felix taught me well!." ClausNet: What advice can you give to a first time Santa or Mrs. Claus? Kevin Haislip: "The best advice I give new Santas is to read as much as you can from StNicholasCenter.org about St Nicholas. Get to know who he was, why he was so beloved and why he was motivated to do the things he did for others. Learn to follow his example as he followed Christ. He is an incredible example to all Christians!" ClausNet: Anything else you would like to add? Kevin Haislip: "It is not about the suit. It is about the man! Be the man if you're going to be Santa." Thank you Kevin! Everyone, please join me in congratulating Kevin Haislip , our ClausNet Featured Member of the Month for August 2019!
  20. 2 points
    This Nostalgic Christmas Decoration is Making a Major Comeback August 08, 2019 By Maria Pasquini - People Excerpt: It’s never too early to start thinking about Christmas decorations! Although there are still many months until the holiday rolls around, if you want to get your hands on one of this year’s hottest decorations, you may not want to wait. Vintage-style ceramic and porcelain Christmas trees, which became a mainstay of tabletops in the 1970s, have been slowly but surely making a comeback over the past decade, as Better Homes & Gardens pointed out. According to Google, internet searches for the classic Christmas decorations have increased by 488 percent since 2009. **** In addition to rummaging around the family attic, Amazon sells several different varieties ranging from $12.99 to $43.99. The Home Shopping Network and Lenox are also selling their own Christmas figurines, which double down on the Yuletide spirit by playing holiday classic tunes. For all the DIY-ers out there, Michael’s is even selling their own unfinished version, which will allow families to put their own creative spin on their seasonal decor. Happy (early) holiday shopping! SOURCE: This Nostalgic Christmas Decoration is Making a Major Comeback WWW.MSN.COM Vintage Ceramic Christmas Trees Are Becoming Popular Again
  21. 2 points
  22. 2 points
  23. 2 points
    Name: John Rhys-Davies reciting Luke 2 Category: Movies and Television Date Added: 08/14/2019 Submitter: Drosselmeyer this is probably the most powerful telling of the Christmas story I have ever heard John Rhys-Davies reciting Luke 2
  24. 2 points
    Christmas Glow: Festival Of One Million Lights Is Coming To Pittsburgh August 7, 2019 (KDKA) Excerpt – Pittsburgh -One of the world’s largest indoor Christmas festivals is being held in Pittsburgh this year. Christmas Glow, also known as Lumaze, began in 2017 near Vancouver, Canada. Now, it’s coming to 31st Street Studios in Pittsburgh’s Strip District. The festival with one million lights promises something for everyone! Playgrounds for the kids, seasonal beverages for mom and dad, food, and live music are all on tap. SOURCE
  25. 2 points
    Loved Everett's podcast! He's one I can count as a true friend. One I have met in person, who has reached out to me as well as me reaching out to him. We've talked tech, phones, and Santa, of course. Thanks for sharing your childhood, family, and journey to Santa, @TN Santa!
  26. 2 points
  27. 2 points
    I try to shop local just to support the local businesses when I can. Especially the local Farmers Market.
  28. 2 points
    You know, you made me think: I can honestly see an ad campaign and/or a movie or show with Santa using drones to deliver gifts because he's tired of the sleigh. While it would most likely not be well received, look at the garbage that spews out of Hollywood already!
  29. 2 points
    I always try to "shop small" at my local area stores whenever I can and even prefer the mall to Amazon, since it creates jobs contributes to the local economy. Give them time and they'll even try to replace Santa and his elves with robotic sorting and packing machines and Amazon drones...
  30. 2 points
  31. 2 points
  32. 2 points
  33. 2 points
    I have started listening to them in order, so not very far yet. So much info in each one, so much information, so little time to sit and reflect on it applies, These have served to caused me to study more into the history of St Nicholas, and all that have followed him. Imagine that this one will be just as valuable. Each one causes me to do more study.
  34. 2 points
    Excellent job! You have way too much time on your hands my dear!!
  35. 2 points
    I listened to this podcast yesterday too. It was a great interview and I learned a lot. Love hearing from other Santas about their history, their work and their advice. I am far from California, so I found Cortney's comments about his work out there very interesting. This podcast is awesome!
  36. 2 points
    The August 2019 issue of the ClausNet Gazette is now online! SUBSCRIBE
  37. 2 points
    Excellent! I always learn something new from you Eileen! Thank you for sharing!
  38. 2 points
    As Mike said, I am sick and tired of this, too. There are lots of Santas who truly bring joy and the magic of Christmas to lots of children. It is sad that there are people out there who would destroy an image that is to be kind, compassionate and considerate to children. Santa is to be an example for the children. So sad!!!
  39. 2 points
    It’s Christmas in July on many B.C. movie sets as Hallmark boosts production July 26, 2019 Bill Brioux, The Canadian Press Excerpt: It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas — at least on Canadian movie sets. Especially in Vancouver, where “Sense, Sensibility & Snowmen” was one of five holiday-themed TV-movies — three by Hallmark — shot in B.C. this July alone. Directed by Calgary native David Winning, the family-friendly feature stars Erin Krakow and London, Ont.-born Luke Macfarlane. Krakow, the American-born star of Hallmark’s “When Calls the Heart” (also shot in Vancouver), plays an over-enthusiastic Christmas planner, while Macfarlane co-stars as a Scrooge-like toy company CEO. Before you can say “ho-ho-ho,” they become holiday sweethearts. It’s Winning’s 15th movie for Hallmark, eight of which have been Christmas-themed. **** Quite often that safe harbour originates in Canada. Hallmark, a Crown Media company, ordered a record 100-plus TV movies into production in 2019. The network says about 70 are shot in Canada, including places such as North Bay, Sudbury and Parry Sound, Ont. To achieve the right Christmas-in-July look, workers roll out fake snow made out of cotton batting, fetching truckloads of the real stuff from local hockey rinks to cover green lawns on outdoor sets. Companies producing these films earn points and claim big tax advantages for every Canadian actor near the top of the call sheet. Canadian directors and writers also trigger tax incentives. **** Campbell is also grateful for the Hallmark seal of approval. Usually an American, such as former “Full House” actress Candace Cameron Bure, takes top billing on a shot-in-Canada original. Campbell’s star at the network has risen to the point, however, where he and Ottawa-born Kimberly Sustad — two Canadians — have the No. 1 and 2 spots in “A Godwink Christmas.” The key, says Campbell, is becoming “a recognizable face” on the network. As for why Hallmark keeps casting Canadians in their Christmas films, Campbell, tongue somewhat in cheek, says it goes beyond the dollar. “A lot of L.A. actors have a swagger which doesn’t actually work for Hallmark,” he says. Better the low-key Canadian approach: “Please love me!” SOURCE
  40. 1 point
    I was a founding member but I got dropped from the club membership here. I don't come on this site much because I never hear from anyone when I post. Is there a better place to communicate and stay in touch with clan? please let me know. Fr. Santa David
  41. 1 point
  42. 1 point
    Why am I not surprised? It is an accurate response, though.
  43. 1 point
    When I tell them "What do you mean, I'm Sonny Boy to Santa" I'll be able to waltz right in and enjoy the view! THANKS POPS! It will be worth the road trip! Now how to get Kathy to come along with me so I can get her in FREE and still call it a DATE NIGHT??!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!
  44. 1 point
    🤮 That's all I've got to say.
  45. 1 point
  46. 1 point
About | Forums | Blogs | Newsletter | Contact


© 2019 MJR Group. LLC. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Copyright IP Policy

Proud affiliate of My Merry Christmas!

Subscribe to the ClausNet Gazette

Enter your email address to subscribe to our monthly newsletter.

About ClausNet

The ClausNet community is the largest social network and online resource for Santa Claus, Mrs. Claus, Elves, Reindeer Handlers, and Santa helpers for the purposes of sharing stories, advice, news, and information.
×
×
  • Create New...